Atlanta’s Best

I lived in the ATL for exactly a year, and while I hated it most of the time, there are actually quite a few things that I grew to love about the city. Below is my list of must-dos for anyone moving to or visiting Atlanta.

Drinking & Desserts: If you know me well, you know I love a nice drink and the occasional sweet
1. Six Feet Under: this place is the coolest….the bar is on top of the building, so that you have an incredible view of the skyline
2. Kale Me Crazy: refreshing fruit and vegetable juice for days
3. Honey Bubble Tea: if you’ve never had bubble tea, you’re missing out. It’s iced & flavored (dozens of varieties) tea over tapioca pearls
4. Ormsby’s Taverns: no need to bar hop with this one! this place has a huge alcohol selection and in the basement there are a ton of group games (like darts)
5. Piece of Cake: ahhmazing cupcakes…plus, they have an allergen-free selection!

Eating: Really, who doesn’t love a good meal? Atlanta has an abundance of incredible restaurants, but these are the best of the best
1. Mary Mac’s Tea Room: soul food in it’s finest form {it’s also the location of my car accident!}
2. Yard House: hundreds of beers on tap, awesome atmosphere, and delicious (large) food
3. Zen on Ten: awesome Happy Hour specials on sushi and drinks
4. Yeah! Burger: gluten-free buns, local produce and tons of topping varieties–what else could you need?
5. MetroFresh: super healthy, fresh, and creative salads

Playing: I didn’t always feel like there was a lot do, except eat. BUT that’s not actually the case
1. Piedmont Park: tons of trails, greenery, a dog park, flowing water, a farmer’s market–this park has everything! I spent most of my free time where when the weather permitted
2. Atlantic Station: pretty decent shopping district with lots of food options, it’s really cute in the winter with the lights everywhere!
3. World of Coca-Cola: okay, so this is super tourist-y, but it’s pretty fun if you’ve never been to the ATL!
4. X3 Sports: kickboxing, Fast Track and awesome trainers…best membership I’ve ever had. If I wasn’t at the park, I was here!
5. Passion City Church: clearly, I saved the best for last. This church is absolutely phenomenal. Full of people who love Jesus, serve others, and seek truth. I was a doorholder and involved in the community groups there…pretty sure I would not have made it through the year without this amazing house.

If you’ve never been to the ATL, you should go to sometime before you die.

ATL

Have something to say?