Winter Wonders

Oh boy, oh boy…what a winter this has been! From snow storms, to traveling, the first month and half have been exciting months. My spirit feels lighter than it has in months! I have some pretty exciting things happening outside of work, professionally; I’m finally in the physical shape I want; I love love love my church; I’ve made some good friends;  and turns out, Atlanta is actually a pretty cool city.

Snowpocalypse Part 1
The last week in January, school was cancelled for 4 solid days. The beauty of living in the south is that they cancel school for the slightest hint of winter weather. Sometimes though, the weathermen get it wrong and there is actually an entire 2 inches of snow…not just a few flurries. Initiate panic (and joy for those not stuck traffic). I’m going to resist my natural urge to make fun of the city’s response to the weather, but you can watch/read other people doing it here, here, and definitely here. These glorious days were spent: sleeping in, working out, reading, hanging out with neighbors, and cooking. Honestly though, I was more than ready to go back to school…I get so stir crazy!

As ready as I was, going back to school was actually pretty rough. All of the paperwork that I had due during the cancellations was now added to the amount of the regular week. Plus my car was on the fritz (had to replace the battery and some connectors) and I was sick. Yikes! Needless to say, I’m glad I had slept plenty during the snow days, cause I did not sleep much that week.

Snowpocalypse Part 2
After being back in school for 1 week, and 1 day there was another round of winter weather. Based on the fiasco that took place the first time through, the schools were  none to eager to make the news again. Tuesday was above freezing with a light rain, so obviously we can’t go to school. But, heck you weren’t going to see me complaining…that meant my long weekend was getting even longer, and I would spend more time in the cornfield that I love.

So, from Tuesday evening to the following Monday morning, I was in Cedarville visiting friends, former professors, mentors, and former employers. I’m not entirely sure of the best way to describe this trip…but I think “blessing” is the best way.

Blessing

God’s favor and protection: The Lord blessed me with safe travels and good health.  Even in the midst of winter storms happening all around and battling a cold when I left, the trip went without a hitch.  Even though I was anxious about the missed instructional time, the Lord knew that I needed every minute in the cornfield.

A beneficial thing for which one is grateful: A significant highlight of my trip was spending time with the Jacobs family. They were gracious enough to let me stay with them for almost a week. Words cannot even begin to describe how much I love these people. My second family, they encourage me, make me laugh, and always make me feel at home.

A person’s sanction or support: It’s funny how even after almost a year, driving into Cedarville still feels like driving home. Such a peace comes over me when I’m there, it softens me and allows me to drown out the noise in the world around me. Sitting in Stoney Creek or Chuck’s, I was able to reconnect with those who poured the most into me. I got to reflect over the past 4 months (I was last there in October) and look forward to the future. I am incredibly grateful for those who listen to my anticipations and fears, simply listening and loving.

As much as I miss being a student Cedarville University, I do NOT miss the mountains of snow and the freezing wind...but isn't it beautiful?

As much as I miss being a student Cedarville University, I do NOT miss the mountains of snow and the freezing wind…but isn’t it beautiful?

There will be a day…
If you think about it, say a prayer for the family of Robbie Betterton and my class at Gretna High School. Robbie has battled Leukemia for many years, and after some more health crises, passed away on Monday, February 17. I was never good friends with him, but I am with several people who were. He was a popular, friendly, and outgoing guy, and I know there a lot of hurting hearts right now. I’m certain that Robbie knew the Lord, which brings peace to my heart, but it’s still difficult to see a young life come to a painful end. I am so ready for this day: “He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” – Revelation 21:4

Looking ahead
The rest of February and up until the end of March are looking to be pretty boring months. No trips planned, no scheduled time off…just work. Blaaahhhh. .  I imagine I’ll work out a lot, do lots of crafts, and probably create a few new recipes…maybe something will finally make its way on here. If you have any ideas, LET ME KNOW!

I want a lifetime of holy moments. Every day I want to be in proximity to Jesus. I long for a life that explodes with meaning and is filled with adventure, wonder, risk, and danger. I long for a life that is gloriously treacherous. I want to be with Jesus, not knowing whether to cry or to laugh.
-Mike Yaconelli

One thought on “Winter Wonders

Have something to say?

