Ready or not

School starts tomorrow!!

For as long as I can remember, I’ve loved school. I love everything about it: the studying, the papers, the supplies, the teachers….you name it, I love it.  This time around, I’m facing the year from the opposite perspective–the perspective of a teacher. And let me tell you, I’m just as excited (if not more).

Ready…
It’s been almost a year since I decided to apply for Teach for America, and it’s incredible to think that it’s finally come full circle and I start my journey as a teacher in 18 hours!  Although I never really planned to be a teacher, I couldn’t imagine being in any other place right now. Everything has fallen into place so perfectly, that I know this is exactly where the Lord wants me. The administration at my school is absolutely incredible. Not only do most of the teachers respect them, but they truly believe in my ability to teach my kids. Throughout the entire week of pre-planning I received so much support & encouragement from veteran teachers; it was great to be so welcomed by the staff members.

Reminder: I’m teaching 6th Grade, Special Ed- English Language Arts & Social Studies (and maybe Science)

Thankfully, I don’t begin actually teaching this week…I get to spend it working on my caseload & paperwork (hooray…) as well as assessing my students. I’ll also be working on my unit plans for the small group ELA class, My classroom is almost ready, I’m just waiting on some computers and I have a couple more posters to make (I should post rules somewhere, right?). It looks exactly like I’ve been dreaming that it would!! Once it’s finished, I’ll post some pictures.

…or not
There’s still a lot I’m not quite ready for. I don’t have a schedule yet, so I’m not really sure what my weeks will look like.  I’m nervous about classroom management and getting my kids invested in the goals I’ve set. I’m nervous about finding time for myself and my friends. I’m nervous about co-teaching with teachers who may not take me seriously. I’m still nervous about actually making sure my kids get the content they need to pass the standardized tests. I think my biggest fear is that I won’t be the teacher my students deserve or need me to be.

But ultimately at the end of the day, what matters is if I tried my very best and

Goals & Prayer
For the sake of accountability & the hope that you’ll pray for me, here are my goals for the school year:

School
– 80% CRCT pass rate at the end of the school year
– 90% of my kids will be on or above grade level by the end of the year
– 100% of my students will be invested in their learning & take ownership of their education

Personal
– Workout 5x a week
– Spend time with friends 2x a week
– Stay healthy (that’s a tricky one, since I’m starting the year with a pretty bad cold….1 week and counting)
– Quiet moments with God 3x a week

I am loving this video…put teaching into a pretty great perspective 🙂

Have something to say?

