This is hard.

Here’s the funny thing about blogging, or really just writing in general: once I finally sit down and start, I LOVE doing it.

Sweet, sweet time off

Immediately after Institute, I had a really fun little break/vacation. Literally within an hour after Institute ended, I was headed to the BEACH! I don’t think I’ve ever been more excited to embark on a 5 hour drive. The excitement wasn’t so much for the sand between my toes, the smell of the saltwater or even the sleeping in that was sure to happen, but for the people I knew I would be spending the next few days with. I got spend the rest of the week with the Jacobs, a family that I became close to in my time at Cedarville. Those days were so fun and relaxing…it’s incredibly encouraging to know that you have people cheering for you & supporting you in each phase of life. I love this family 🙂

I also got to spend some time at home, which was surprisingly refreshing, granted I was only there for about 2 days and a couple of hours. I got to spend some time at my happy place: Cousins Camp. This also meant that I got to see my friend Carissa and her parents, who I haven’t seen in years. It was great to just be home and catch up with the people that watched me grow up.

On July 7, my mom, sisters and I headed down to Atlanta bright and early. I was so grateful for all of their help with loading & unloading the U-Haul and helping me unpack & put together furniture. They stayed down here for 2 days and we did some touristy things like visit the Coca-Cola museum & the Centennial  Olympic Park…it was pretty fun! But eventually they had to leave, and I began the daunting task of unpacking and getting myself settled into the apartment.

So, for the past 2 1/2 weeks, I’ve been organizing and getting ready for the beginning of school. I never ever get tired of reading about Special Ed resources, vocab & literacy tools, IEPs, or planning curriculum.

Embracing this new life

Part of the reason it’s taken me so long to actually write is that I haven’t had that many good things to say, and I never want to use this blog to complain & whine. But hell, this moving and transition thing is hard!!

It’s hard to see my friends living their lives without me being a part of them, and not knowing when I’ll see some of them again…

It’s hard to find a solid church that preaches Biblical truths that aren’t watered down to simply motivational speeches…

It’s hard to constantly feel like there is just an overwhelming amount weight on my shoulders when I look at the urban education situation just in Atlanta…

It’s hard to find good friends who challenge, encourage, and push me closer to Christ…

It’s hard to learn the layout of a new city and find the best mechanics, grocery stores, doctors, etc…

It’s hard to be several hours from family, close friends, and everything safe, familiar and comfortable…

Shout out to my BFFs for listening to me  vent & cry countless times over the past several months and always providing me with constant encouragement & support. 

Effing Traffic

I always whined about growing up in the country, and going to school in a cornfield, wishing that I lived in an exciting, fun city. It’s definitely not all it’s cracked up to be. City traffic is a bitch (pardon my French). No matter what time of day, getting anywhere takes an astronomical amount of time…doesn’t anyone down here have a job!? Sometimes I’ll get on the highway, and as soon as I see the traffic I just want to (1) curl up in a ball and die or (2) rear end the person in front of me, just so I have something to do.

No matter what, at the end of the day, I know I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be. And that’s what matters. 

“Walk with the dreamers, the believers, the courageous, the cheerful, the planners, the doers, the successful people with their heads in the clouds and their feet on the ground. Let their spirit ignite a fire within you to leave this world better than when  you found it…” – Wilfred Peterson

2 thoughts on “This is hard.

Have something to say?

