I still have a personal life…right?


Let me just say that God is too good to me. There is absolutely no way I would have made it through this week without Him. I have been brought to my knees countless times as I think about the incredible amount of work that needs to be done, the lives of my students now and my students to come. Looking back on the past few weeks, I see so clearly the Lord’s guidance and blessing. Even in the moments this week, when I broke down in tears, I felt His incredible peace and affirmation that I am right where he wants me. And folks, it doesn’t get much better than that.

Apartment
My roommate and I picked up our apartment keys on Thursday!!! We are officially residents at Alexan Metrowest!! Our apartment is awesome, and it is in a fabulous complex.  Everything about it is darn near perfect. We each have our own bathroom & huge closet, the complex has a sweet gym (and classes!), the parking deck is super secure…I could go on and on.

Church
I think I found a church that I like! I’ve only gone a couple of times, but I love it so far. It has a great balance of young & old people, super friendly and active, the worship is modern but not too modern, the preaching is sound, it’s a great balance between casual and dressy and from what I’ve seen, everything very biblically based.

People
My teaching collab is so much fun, and I have managed to make some really cool relationships. We spend a lot of time laughing, venting, asking questions, and actually working. I have a ton of people around me, who want me to succeed and are willing to put in incredible amounts of time to help me reach my goals. I’ve also gotten to be really good friends with a lot of the people who are staying in Atlanta for the next two years, so that’s awesome…it’s a fabulous mix of people.

City Life
I’m still getting used to living in the city, but so far I love it. It’s great to have stuff to do all the time, and so much variety in people and places. I’ve been able to run pretty much every day, which has helped me find a lot of cool nooks and crannies in midtown near my apartment. Georgia Tech has been super great about giving me special gluten, dairy, & soy-free foods. They’re so nice to me and pretty much order anything that I ask for…it’s kinda cool 😉

Prayer
If you get a chance and wouldn’t mind, here are some specific things that need prayer:
– My students…I have 15 precious kids in my class
– Finishing up paperwork for my school placement
– Energy for these long days
– Becoming the best teacher I can be
– Continued relationship growth & development
– My church…that I can quickly tell if I want to make it my church home

 “God has not called me to be successful, he has called me to be faithful.” – Mother Teresa

One thought on “I still have a personal life…right?

  1. So thrilled to peek into your new life and see that it is going well. And seriously?! I put the above Mother Teresa quote up in my kitchen last week. Great minds and all….

Have something to say?

