Teach for America: Week 1

Until now…

For the three weeks between graduation and moving to Atlanta, I was incredibly busy. It was so much fun to spend time with my sister, grandparents, cousins, and friends (granted, most of the time was spent packing, organizing and doing pre-work for my Institute).  At the end of those three weeks, I was more than ready to come on down to the ATL…but maybe not as ready as I thought.

Induction

On Wednesday morning, we checked into Induction. Basically, that’s the time when Corps members learn about the community and schools we’ll be working in. A lot of the time was spent in sessions designed to inspire and encourage us. We met students and their parents, and they told us of their interactions with TFA and how significant our potential impact is. This week made me even more excited to meet my future students and hear their stories.

Making friends

The TFA staff has broken us into small transition groups, which has been so helpful for making friends! I’ve met so many great people, and connected with so many fabulous people. I don’t feel any of the isolation or loneliness that I was worried about.  I even met a guy from Danville!! 2012 Corps members have been incredibly helpful and are proving themselves to be an excellent resource. Their desire to help incoming corps members has been so encouraging. It has been awesome…I feel myself falling in love with this city.

TFA also has small groups, called Affinity Groups, which are for like-minded people to get together. I went to the one for Christians and it was great! A few of the people there, I’d already met, but it was great to meet some new people as well! I got some information about a few churches, and we tossed around ideas of starting a Bible Study or at least getting together once or twice a month. It was so encouraging!!

Getting hired

On Friday, we had a hiring fair. Pretty much, everyone who’s passed their certification tests interviewed with schools hiring for their subject matter. I interviewed with 4 principals, who were awesome. They all had a passion for their students and watching their community improve. The last interview was my favorite…he hired me!! My interview with him lasted all of 3 minutes…he asked me my name, my subject placement, and why I was interested in Special Ed. He interrupted me to start filling out the hiring papers. It was especially awesome, because my dear friend Christine had just gotten hired in the same school. So, Riverdale Middle School, here I come!!

Finding a place

Surprise, surprise, I found a roommate—even though I wasn’t planning to. Looks like I’ll be rooming with my friend Christine–the one placed at my school…we get to carpool! We’re both incredibly similar and click really, really well! We’re pretty much two peas in a pod. We’ve found a lot that we really like, but it’s harder than I thought! We’re looking at Downtown Atlanta, since our school is right outside the city and we don’t want more than a half hour commute. We have a great place picked out, with some fabulous amenities and security. As soon as we get our official hiring papers, we’re going to fill out an application!!

Please pray for me!

Tomorrow morning, Institute begins. This is where things get really hard. Although the days have already been really long, these days get even longer! For example, this week, our bus leaves at 6:10 in the morning! Crazy, right?! Here’s what you can pray for:

– That I have the energy/ability to teach 4th graders!

– Building and strengthening relationships with the people I have already gotten to know

– Finding a church that I like–the place Christine and I went today, I didn’t really like

– Somehow, I’ll manage to find time for myself amidst learning how to be a teacher, build relationships, and all of the chaos that comes with moving to a new city

– That I have the energy to teach 4th graders!

– Building and strengthening relationships with the people I have already gotten to know

– Finding a church that I like–the place Christine and I went today, I didn’t really like

– Somehow, I’ll manage to find time for myself amidst learning how to be a teacher, build relationships, and all of the chaos that comes with moving to a new city- That I have the energy to teach 4th graders!

– Building and strengthening relationships with the people I have already gotten to know

– Finding a church that I like–the place Christine and I went today, I didn’t really like

– Somehow, I’ll manage to find time for myself amidst learning how to be a teacher, build relationships, and all of the chaos that comes with moving to a new city

Have something to say?

